Site Search  Search youth.cn
Study in China Job/Internship Learning Chinese
Study in China more...
· Tsinghua University
· Universities
· A Brief Introduction to Chinese Visa and the Procedure for Visa Application
Job/Internship more...
· Job Opportunities for English Native Speakers
· English teacher
· Lucent interns
· Internship Opportunities
· English teacher
Learning Chinese more...
· A priceless treasure无价之宝
· A swan feather sent from one thousand li away千里送鹅毛
· A MESSAGE TO MENG HAORAN 赠孟浩然
Space shuttle Discovery arrives at space station

U.S. space shuttle Discovery arrived at the International Space Station (ISS) Sunday night after nearly two days of journey.

Using space shuttle Discovery's reaction control system jets, Commander Rick Sturckow steered the shuttle to a soft docking with the ISS at 8:54 p.m. EDT (0054 GMT Monday), NASA said.

A commentator on NASA TV said the soft docking was "smooth-as-silk." "Both vehicles at free drift, all thrusts disabled," he added.

The crews will open hatches between the two spacecraft at 10:59p.m. EDT (0259 GMT Monday) and conduct the traditional welcoming ceremony. About 30 minutes later, Discovery mission specialist Nicole Stott and station Flight Engineer Tim Kopra will exchange Soyuz seat liners and titles, as Stott becomes a station Flight Engineer and Kopra a shuttle mission specialist.

It is the second time 13 people assemble in orbit. The first was just last month during Endeavour's space station visit.

Discovery lifts off midnight Friday from the Kennedy Space Center in Florida after two delays. It will spend more than a week at the orbiting complex. The astronauts will perform three space walks to replace an ammonia tank and perform other outside maintenance. The first one will take place Tuesday night.
 

 
 
 Source : Xinhua  Editor: Ivy
Related:
  在 线 查 词  
 
 
     



Privacy  |  About Us  |  Copyright  |  Advertisement  |  Contact Us